Mother Guru
  Savitri Love Poems
 

 

by Red Hawk
   

Mother Guru is a collection of refined devotional poetry in the tradition of Hafiz and Rumi—whose poems of love continue to inspire millions throughout the world. The fact that this poetry appears in contemporary dress is more gracious still.

The author, Red Hawk, is a widely published and award-winning poet, professor of English at the University of Arkansas, at Monticello. He is also an unabashed disciple of a great contemporary Master, Mister Lee Lozowick (1943- 2010), and one who is willing to bare that discipleship in poetry written as prayer, expressly for and with his guru in mind and heart. In this sense, Mother Guru is a daring book and courageous, as the author overlooks scholarly reputation, Trusting rather in the love that infuses what he writes. He also risks the opprobrium of those who limit the expression of the spiritual to sweet words and lofty sentiments.

					When you meet the Guru, the whole world
					is in flames, the heart is on fire
					and the mind claws to regain its hold
					like a rat flushed down a sewer.

					There were 30 of us gathered in a room
					to be with the Guru and hear Him speak.
					One guy had a question about his anger; some
					questions won't let go of you, they break
					you down, they rip and tear. Then you stand
					or run, depending on how bad you want to know.
					This guy ran, disappeared; God is a risk the mind
					cannot take ...					
				

These are poems of a truly broken heart—pleading poems, begging poems, prayers and curses, bawdy, ironic, hilarious, tough-minded, sometimes angry, often just broken. Few books of poetry today attempt to traverse this razor's edge—fewer still can do so with respect, dignity and passion. Mother Guru is a guidebook to such a challenge, and offers inspiration and a call to profound honesty to the sincere seeker of any mystical tradition.

   
  View Bio Red Hawk  
   
ISBN:978-1-935387-84-8
$19.95, 208 pages, 6 x 9
Poetry / Religious Studies
Release: October 2014
Available Now!
   
Academic Requests Distribution Submissions
Contact Author Ordering Request Catalog
Contact Us Shipping Rights & Permissions

Copyright ©2016 Hohm Press